top of page

Hey, It's me! The author.

A picture of the author and artist, Syd Murray

Thanks so much for reading my blog about my first book, The Legend of the Rock Monster Clan.

I'm so pleased to finally be done with my book. Ok that's an understatement. It took me 7 yrs to complete so, I'm completely stoked that it's finally out there for you to enjoy! I had this book in my brain for about two years before I finally started putting it down in my journal. That's where I started fleshing out characters and ideas. It never went away so I had to put it down.

My first love is art. I have been an artist most of my life. My Dad, who was an artist, discovered me when I was 9. I drew pictures on the garage wall in crayon. After he spanked me for it, he took me aside and said he saw some real talent in my drawings. I remember the conversation in the kitchen. He asked me if I would like him to teach me drawing techniques. Eager for more parental attention I jumped at the chance. That's when my journey started with my Dad. We went out into the country and drew old barns. (We lived in Washington State) . There were plenty of old barns to go draw. He taught me so much.We spent hours and hours talking about art, drawing together and taking art classes together. These are some of my fondest memories of my childhood. He was a good man and I miss him terribly. He died last year 2016 of stage four lung cancer. He was diagnosed and two weeks later, he was gone. I know he would love to see my book with all the drawings in it. He did see some, but never got to see it complete.

So I got the idea for this book when My husband and I were driving home from my son Curtis' boot camp graduation. (Here's a pic of that wonderful day in Oklahoma, Fort Sill 2008.)

A picture of me the author and artist, Syd Murray

It was a long drive cross country so I had plenty of time to daydream out the passenger window while my hubby drove. I'm a daydreamer, always have been. Much to the irritation of my Dad and whole family. LOL! We passed fields and fields of rocks piled up. This got my imagination going and I imagined these fields of rocks were a graveyard. A graveyard of Rock Monsters. I imagined there was a great battle many centuries ago and these piles of rocks were the dead Rock Monsters. Finally my daydreaming is paying off Dad! ;)


No tags yet.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
No tags yet.
bottom of page